Utah State Hall of Fame Banquet Set For Friday, Sept. 9, Reservations Being Accepted
An induction ceremony and dinner honoring Utah State's ninth Hall of Fame Class is scheduled for Friday, Sept. 9 at 6 p.m., at the Riverwoods Conference Center in Logan.

Aug. 31, 2011

LOGAN, Utah - An induction ceremony and dinner honoring Utah State's ninth Hall of Fame Class is scheduled for Friday, Sept. 9 at 6 p.m., at the Riverwoods Conference Center in Logan. Cost of the banquet is $35 per person and reservations can be made by contacting the USU Athletics Department at (435) 797-1850 or by registering on-line at www.utahstateaggies.com. The 2011 inductees will also be recognized in conjunction with Utah State's football home opener against Weber State on Saturday, Sept. 10 at 6 p.m.

The 2011 class includes former track athlete Jerry Cerulla (1965-67), football players LaVell Edwards (1949-51), Henry King (1965-66) and Rick Parros (1976-79), men's basketball player Dean Hunger (1977-80), and the 1980 and 1981 National Championship softball teams.

Cerulla is one of just three track athletes in Utah State history to claim an individual national championship as he won the 60-meter hurdles at the 1966 NCAA Indoor Championships with a time of 7.2. Cerulla also earned All-American honors in the short hurdles (indoor) in 1965 as he was ranked the No. 1 hurdler in the world. Cerulla was also a two-time All-American in the 110-meter hurdles (outdoor) in 1966 and 1967. Along with being a four-time All-American and individual national champion at Utah State, Cerulla also competed in the 1964 and 1968 Olympic Trials.

Edwards was a three-year letterwinner at Utah State and earned all-Mountain States Conference honors in 1950 as a linebacker. He was named to USU's All-Century team in 1993 and was inducted into the Utah Sports Hall of Fame the same year. Following his collegiate career, Edwards served as Brigham Young's head football coach from 1972-2000.

Hunger was named the Big West Conference Player of the Year as a senior in 1980 as he averaged 20.8 points and 8.6 rebounds. Along with being named the Big West's Player of the Year, Hunger was also an Academic All-American during his senior season. For his career, Hunger still ranks 13th all-time at Utah State in scoring (1,472), eighth all-time in field goal shooting (.577), ninth in double-figure scoring games (76), 10th in field goals made (573) and 17th all-time in rebounding (649) and games played (104).

King is widely regarded as one of the best defensive back to ever play at Utah State. During his short two-year Aggie career, King registered 18 interceptions, including 11 during his senior season earning him first-team All-American honors. During his senior campaign, he set a school record with four interceptions in a single game against Pacific and 180 interception return yards, which ranks second all-time at USU behind his 193 interception return yards during his junior campaign. As a junior, King ranked fourth in the nation with seven interceptions.

Parros was a two-time first-team all-Pacific Coast Conference selection, and earned honorable mention All-American honors from the Associated Press in 1978. Parros ran for 1,135 yards as a sophomore and 1,236 yards as senior, both of which rank among the top 10 rushing seasons in school history. Overall, Parros ranks third all-time at Utah State with 3,537 rushing yards, is fifth all-time with 26 rushing touchdowns, seventh all-time in total touchdowns with 27, and 10th all-time in points scored with 170. As a senior, he had 15 rushing touchdowns which still ranks tied for first all-time at USU.

It was a dream season for the Utah State softball team in 1980. Coached by first-year head coach Kelly Phipps, the 1980 Aggies captured its first national championship by defeating Indiana, 1-0, in the AIAW (Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women) World Series title game in Norman, Okla. Mary Lou Ramm was named the Most Outstanding Pitcher in the nation and Most Valuable Player of the World Series as Utah State went 5-1 during the tournament. Utah State finished the season with a 35-16 record, a school record for wins at the time.

First-year head coach Lloydene Searle led Utah State to its second-straight national championship in softball, and the only back-to-back national championships in school history as USU posted a 5-1 record in the 1981 AIAW National Tournament including a 4-3 win against Cal State Fullerton in the championship game in Norman, Okla. The Aggies finished the year with a 34-12 record.

A total of 61 individuals and three teams have now been inducted into the Utah State Athletics Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame was founded in 1993 with 12 initial members, followed by eight additions in 1994 and seven in 1995. The addition of any members was stopped until 2006 when five more individuals were added, followed by six recipients in 2007, four more in 2008 to go along with the first-ever team inducted, seven in 2009 and six more in 2010.

Located inside the Steve Mothersell Hall of Honor, the Utah State Athletics Hall of Fame gives fans the opportunity to view biographical information and watch videos on each of the inducted members. Both the Hall of Fame and the Hall of Honor are located inside the Jim and Carol Laub Athletics-Academics Complex in the north end of Romney Stadium.

Watch Live
Watch Live
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850