Old Wagon Wheel

The Old Wagon Wheel

The Old Wagon Wheel, the traveling trophy between Utah State and BYU, became part of the in-state football rivalry in 1948. Awarded by the Blue Key fraternities of the two schools, the Aggies took it home that first year after a 20-7 defeat of the Cougars. Since 1948, the wheel has covered many a mile between Provo and Logan as the rivalry has grown.

Winning the wheel on the field is only a small part of the battle between the two schools. Although not practiced anymore, the more entertaining tradition surrounding the wheel is its theft. In years past, the losing school has often sought to reclaim the trophy through less-than-legal means. Despite being done in the "all-in-good-fun" spirit, this tradition has had its share of problems. The wheel has disappeared for years at a time after being taken by parties with no affiliation to either school.

Beehive Boot

Beehive Boot

First instituted in 1971, the Beehive Boot is the symbol of gridiron supremacy in the state of Utah. The idea for the rotating trophy originated with Dave Schulthess, former Sports Information Director of BYU, and was agreed upon by SIDs from Utah, Utah State, and Weber State. As the trophy would represent dominance within the confines of the Beehive State.

The Pioneer Boot was donated by Tom Beasley, an antique dealer living in Cache Valley. Estimated to be more than 100 years old, the Beehive Boot is an authentic piece of Utah history.

If the teams should end the season with identical records against in-state opponents, a winner is chosen by vote of the in-state media who covered the schools.

Bridgers Battle Logo

Bridgers Battle

Utah State University and the University of Wyoming adopted a rivalry series in football that began in 2013 and is referred to as "Bridger's Battle" in reference to celebrated Wyoming/Utah mountain man Jim Bridger. The winner of the annual contest will take home the traveling "Bridger Rifle," a .50 caliber Rocky Mountain Hawken rifle that was popular among mountain men and widely considered to be what Bridger carried. Each year's game score will be notched into the maple stock.

As part of 1862's Morrill Act, both the University of Wyoming and Utah State University share the distinction of being "land-grant" institutions, providing invaluable educational and leadership opportunities in their respective states. The schools' football teams share a colorful history as well. The Cowboys and Aggies have met on the gridiron a total of 65 times, which is USU's fourth-most played series, with the first meeting occurring on November 21, 1903 in Logan. USU leads the all-time series, 37-24-4.

The states of Wyoming and Utah share much more in common than just a border. Both states are considered part of the American West, conjuring up images of cowboys, sodbusters, trappers and trailblazers. Much of the United States' western nostalgia can be attributed to the pioneering spirit that was embodied in the settlers who adventured into this wild frontier.

Born in 1804, Bridger is widely recognized as the foremost mountain man in the history of the American West. Bridger was one of the first Americans to set foot in Yellowstone Park, documenting the natural wonders of what would become the nation's first national park and establishing the first fur trading post in the area.

While leading the Stansbury Expedition in 1849, Bridger helped construct a route that would one day become part of the Transcontinental Railroad. Bridger spent a majority of his life in the Rocky Mountain region, primarily in the areas now known as Wyoming and Utah, trapping, guiding and exploring. Bridger's impact on western U.S. history is immense, providing much of the folklore the general public now identifies as the early west.

11/30/13 USU, 35-7 (h)
11/7/14 USU, 20-3 (a)

Watch Live
Watch Live
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850

Privacy Safety Ethics & Compliance Hotline Accessibility Non-discrimination