Aggie Track Teams Head To Idaho For WAC Championships
Senior Jennifer Twitchell owns the leadng conference time in the mile (4:49.18) heading into the WAC Indoor Championships.
Senior Jennifer Twitchell owns the leadng conference time in the mile (4:49.18) heading into the WAC Indoor Championships.

Feb. 20, 2007

LOGAN, Utah - Utah State track athletes return to Nampa, Idaho, Feb. 23-24 for the Western Athletic Conference Indoor Championships at the Idaho Sports Center and Jacksons Track. Three Aggies lay claim to the best times among WAC runners with five Aggies holding second best conference performances this year.

Senior runner Dasheek Akwenye holds the top 400-meter mark with a time of 48.2, which ties him for seventh overall in the Utah State record books. Senior distance runner Seth Wold owns the top conference time in the 5,000-meters with a time of 14:36.39 with teammate Vance Twitchell in second-place at 14:39.50.

For the women senior distance runner Jennifer Twitchell boasts the best time in the mile (4:49.18) while teammate Amy Egan is second (4:50.55) in the conference. Pole vaulter Kathryn Duhadway also remains in second-place with a height of 12-05.50.

Distance runner Stacie Lifferth, who holds the school record in the 3,000-meters with a top time of 9:51.99, is in second-place in the conference. Other Aggie women with top 10 conference times in the WAC include Amber Peterson 3rd (8.7 in the 60-meter hurdles), 4th (56.12 in the 400-meters), 5th (24.93 in the 200-meters), Brittany Chadwick 10th (7.84 in the 60-meters), Jennifer Twitchell 5th (2:15.67 in the 800-meters), and Aimee Savageau 6th (3,216 in the pentathlon).

Aggie men with top 10 conference times in the WAC include DJ Smith 2nd (6.78 in the 60-meters), 3rd (21.94 in the 200-meters), Scott Bell 6th (8.24 in the 60-meter hurdles), Chase Richins 7th (8.25 in the 60-meter hurdles), Ben Kessen 6th (4:19.84 in the mile), Casey Parker 3rd (6-08.50 in the high jump), Kevin Liu 6th (53-05.50 in the shot put), 4th (62-06.00 in the weight throw), and Logan Moore 3rd (4,409 in the heptathlon).

Last year, Utah State's men finished fourth while the Aggie women were third at the WAC Championships. The Boise State men won the WAC indoor meet last year, while Louisiana Tech won the women's side.

Current Aggies who have won individual conference titles in the past include Kristen Guymon, who won the 2002 Big West title in the 1,500, Tiffany Strickland, who won the steeplechase in 2005, and Lacey Hulbert, who won the high jump and the heptathlon last year. For the men, Seth Wold captured first-place in the 3,000-meter last year.

USU's women have not claimed a conference track championship since 1999, when the Aggies finished their run of seven straight Big West titles. The Aggie men won back-to-back Big West titles in 2002 and 2003 before placing seventh in 2004, fifth in 2005, and fourth last year. This past fall, both the USU men and women won WAC Cross Country Championships.

After the WAC Championships. USU's qualified athletes will compete in the 2007 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championship in Fayetteville, Ark., March 9-10. The University of Arkansas is hosting the event.



Pepsi Blue Square Restaurant USU Charter Credit Union Icon Health & Fitness Utah State Online Education
Utah State University Campus Store