Jalen Moore And Koby McEwen Earn All-Mountain West Honors
March 7, 2017

MW Release

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State senior wing Jalen Moore and freshman guard Koby McEwen have been named all-Mountain West second-team and honorable mention, respectively, as announced by the conference on Tuesday. Additionally, McEwen was named the Mountain West Freshman of the Year, proving the prognosticators right after being named the Preseason MW Freshman of the Year last fall.

McEwen is the fifth Aggie in school history to garner Freshman of the Year honors and the first since 2005 when Jaycee Carroll was named the Big West Freshman of the Year. Other Aggies to be named Freshman of the Year include Bryon Ruffner (1991), Kendall Youngblood (1989) and Greg Grant (1983). McEwen matched Carroll’s freshman scoring mark of 28 points in a game against UNLV earlier this season, scoring 24 of the 28 in the second half. McEwen’s 28 points was a season high, but the Toronto native has scored 20 or more points six times this season, one shy of Carroll’s total of seven during his freshman campaign.

McEwen leads all freshmen in the Mountain West with 14.4 points per game and 30.9 minutes per game this season. McEwen is second among freshmen with 3.0 assists per game, trailing only freshman teammate Sam Merrill with 3.1, and 5.1 rebounds per game. McEwen’s averages of 14.4 points and 5.1 rebounds per game are the most by a freshman since Carroll averaged 14.7 points and 4.3 rebounds per game during the 2004-05 season.

McEwen was also recognized with all-Mountain West honorable mention accolades, marking the fourth consecutive year that two or more Aggies have been named to various all-Mountain West teams. McEwen is the first freshman to be named all-conference since Carroll earned all-Big West honors during his freshman year.



Moore was recognized with second-team all-MW honors, marking the third consecutive year that he has been honored by the league. Moore is the first Aggie to earn three consecutive all-conference honors since Carroll earned four straight from 2005-08. Moore has led Utah State with 16.6 points, fifth in the MW, and 5.6 rebounds per game, 11th in the MW, during the season and is just the third Aggie in school history to lead the team in both scoring and rebounding three separate years, joining Greg Grant (1982-84, 1985-86) and Marvin Roberts (1968-71) with that distinction.

Moore had the seventh-longest double-digit scoring streak in school history during the season, scoring in double figures in 34 consecutive games. In all, Moore scored in double figures in all but one game this season and led the Aggies in points 15 times, logging a season-high of 24 points in two different games. Moore also paced Utah State on glass in 11 games this season, recording a season high of 15 points against Nevada on Feb. 1.

Moore and McEwen will return to the court for the Aggies when Utah State opens its Mountain West Men’s Basketball Championship run against No. 9 San José State on Wednesday, March 8 at Noon (MT) at the Thomas & Mack Center.

For Mountain West Tournament information, fans can contact the USU Athletics Ticket Office over the phone by calling 1-888-USTATE-1 or 435-797-0305 during regular hours of operation. Fans can also buy their tickets in person at the USU Ticket Office inside the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum or online by clicking on the “Buy Tickets” tab at www.utahstateaggies.com.

Utah State men’s basketball news and information is available on Facebook (facebook.com/usumen’sbasketball) and on Twitter (@Aggiehoops). Fans can also get USU men’s basketball highlights on YouTube (youtube.com/utahstateathletics). Aggie fans can follow the Utah State athletic program on Twitter (@usuathletics), on Facebook (facebook.com/usuathletics) or on Instagram (@usuathletics).

Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850

Privacy Safety Ethics & Compliance Hotline Accessibility Non-discrimination