Utah State Football Has Five Players Named to National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society
Utah State football had five players named to the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame's 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, announced by the association Wednesday.
April 5, 2017

LOGAN, Utah -

Utah State football had five players named to the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame's 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, announced by the association Wednesday.

Seniors Austin Cheney, Edmund Faimalo, Landon Horne, Wyatt Houston and Travis Seefeldt were all recognized for their academic and athletics efforts. Cheney and Seefeldt will both graduate from Utah State this spring with degrees in business administration and master’s in business administration, respectively. Faimalo, Horne and Houston all graduated from USU last fall with degrees in interdisciplinary studies, finance and economics, and sociology, respectively.

Throughout their careers, Houston and Seefeldt each received academic all-conference honors all four years, while Cheney, Faimalo and Horne were each recognized twice for academic success after transferring to USU from other schools.

To qualify for the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, student-athletes must be a starter or significant contributor in their final season of eligibility while maintaining a 3.2 cumulative grade point average and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress toward their degree requirements.

A total of 1,089 players from 297 schools qualified for membership in the society’s 11th year, both new single-year records in the history of the program. The five Aggies are among 32 student-athletes from the Mountain West to make the list.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF’s National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization’s leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the 777 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.



The 1,089 players honored in 2017 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 882 honorees in 2016. The 297 schools with members breaks the previous record of 280 in both 2015 and 2016.

The initiative has honored 7,723 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF Chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as the chairman emeritus. Each player awarded with membership in this year’s Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

“It was my great privilege to endow the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which has greatly increased the number of college student-athletes the NFF has been able to recognize during the past 11 years,” said Hanson. “Nationwide there are thousands of football players excelling in the classroom, and they’re going on to be great leaders. The NFF Hampshire Honor Society continues to grow and allows us to shine a light on their hard work.”

Fans can follow the Aggie football program at twitter.com/USUFootball or on Facebook at Utah State Football, as well as on Instagram at instagram.com/USUFootball. Aggie fans can also follow the Utah State athletic program at twitter.com/USUAthletics or on Facebook at Utah State University Athletics.

Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850

Privacy Safety Ethics & Compliance Hotline Accessibility Non-discrimination