Utah State Defensive Coordinator Dave Aranda Nominated For 2012 Broyles Award
Utah State defensive coordinator Dave Aranda has been nominated for the 2012 Broyles Award it was announced Wednesday. Aranda is in his first season at USU after spending the previous four years at the University of Hawai'i, including the last two as its defensive coordinator.

Nov. 22, 2012

LOGAN, Utah - Utah State defensive coordinator Dave Aranda has been nominated for the 2012 Broyles Award it was announced Wednesday. Aranda is in his first season at USU after spending the previous four years at the University of Hawai'i, including the last two as its defensive coordinator.

The Broyles Award honors the top assistant college football coach in America and was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas head coach Frank Broyles.

Aranda is one of 29 assistant coaches at the Football Bowl Subdivision level to be nominated for the award and is one of just 13 defensive coordinators to make the list.

Defensively this season, Utah State ranks among the top 21 defenses in the nation in five different statistical categories, including being ranked first in the Western Athletic Conference and eighth in the nation in scoring defense (16.0 ppg). USU also ranks second in the WAC and seventh nationally in sacks (3.27 pg), first in the WAC and 10th in the country in rushing defense (107.2 ypg), first in the WAC and 18th in the nation in pass efficiency defense (111.3), first in the WAC and 21st in the nation in total defense (332.9 ypg), and second in the WAC and 47th in the nation in passing defense (225.7 ypg).

Aranda has been a vital role in improving the Aggie defense in nearly every category as last season USU ranked 68th in the nation in scoring defense (27.92 ppg), 59th in sacks (1.92 pg), 31st in rushing defense (127.80 ypg), 48th in passing efficiency defense (127.70), 50th in total defense (366.23 ypg) and 76th in passing defense (238.5 ypg).

Heading into its final game of the 2012 regular season, Utah State and Penn State are the only two teams in the nation who have not allowed a first quarter touchdown, while USU has held nine of its 11 opponents scoreless in the first quarter. The Aggies are out-scoring their opponents 117-6 in the first quarter and 223-48 in the first half this season.



Utah State (9-2, 5-0 WAC), who is ranked tied for 25th in the nation in this week's Associated Press Poll, is off to its best start to a season since the 1961 team finished the year with a 9-1-1 record and USU's nine wins thus far this year are tied with the 1960 and 1961 USU teams for the most victories in a single season in school history.

Utah State concludes its regular season at home against WAC foe Idaho (1-10, 1-4) on Saturday, Nov. 24 at 1 p.m. With a win against the Vandals, USU will claim its first outright conference championship since 1936 and just its third in school history (1921, 1936).

For USU football ticket information, contact the USU Ticket Office at the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum, or by phone by calling 1-888-USTATE-1 or (435) 797-0305. Tickets can also be purchased 24 hours a day at www.UtahStateAggies.com.

Fans can follow the Aggie football program at twitter.com/USUFootball. Aggie fans can also follow the Utah State athletic program at twitter.com/USUAthletics or on facebook at Utah State University Athletics.

The five finalists for the 2012 Broyles Award will be announced on Monday, November 26. The 2012 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4 at 10:30 a.m. (MT) at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, AR. The Broyles Award is presented by the Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2011 Broyles Award was John Chavis, Louisiana State University (LSU).

Rhett Lashlee, Arkansa State University, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
Rich Skrosky, Ball State, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Chad Morris, Clemson, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterback
Matt Lubick, Duke University, Passing Game Coordinator; Wide Receivers Coach
Dan Quinn, Florida, Defensive Coordinator
Mark Stoops, Florida State University, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
Nick Toth, Fresno State, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Mike Bobo, Georgia, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Charles Kelly, Georgia Tech, Defensive Coordinator
Mike Summers, Kentucky, Offensive Line
Tony Franklin, Louisiana Tech, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Tim Beck, Nebraska, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Ed Warinner, Ohio State University, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Todd Monken, Oklahoma State, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Mark Banker, Oregon State University, Defensive Coordinator
Robb Smith, Rutgers, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary Coach
Kent Baer, San Jose State University, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
Scott Shafer, Syracuse University, Defensive Coordinator
Kliff Kingsbury, Texas A&M, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
Art Kaufman, Texas Tech University, Defensive Coordinator
Noel Mazzone, UCLA, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
Bobby Williams, University of Alabama, Tight Ends/Special Teams
Calvin Magee, University of Arizona, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Running Backs
Brent Key, University of Central Florida, Assistant Head Coach/Offensive Line Coach
Greg Mattison, University of Michigan, Defensive Coordinator
Blake Anderson, University of North Carolina/Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Bob Diaco, University of Notre Dame, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Lorenzo Ward, University of South Carolina, Defensive Coordinator
Dave Aranda, Utah State University, Defensive Coordinator
Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850

Privacy Safety Ethics & Compliance Hotline Accessibility Non-discrimination