utahstateaggies.com - Utah State Official Athletic Site Official Athletic Site - Football
Bill Busch and Kendrick Shaver Named FootballScoop Defensive Back Coaches of the Year
Bill Busch and Kendrick Shaver are the FootballScoop Defensive Back Coaches of the Year.
Bill Busch and Kendrick Shaver are the FootballScoop Defensive Back Coaches of the Year.

Dec. 13, 2012

LOGAN, Utah - Utah State coaches Bill Busch and Kendrick Shaver have received FootballScoop's Defensive Backs Coaches of the Year award, presented by ProGrass and announced Thursday.

The award, given by the only organization recognizing position coaches, was chosen by previous winners. The two will be honored at the American Football Coaches Association's annual convention in January.

Busch is in his fourth season at Utah State, serving as associate head coach and overseeing the special teams and safeties. Shaver joined the Aggie staff in February, 2011 where he serves as the cornerbacks coach. Prior to coming to Utah State, he spent four seasons as the secondary coach at Northern Colorado.

"They have some talented young men there in the back end. They are great teachers of the fundamentals on the practice field. They are great teachers in the meeting room," said head coach Gary Andersen. "Their expectation is to play at a very high level every single week and their kids have wrapped their arms around that. This is well-deserved for both of them and I'm proud of them."

The Aggie defense has been crucial in the season's success as they held opponents to just over 15 points a game. At the end of the regular season, Utah State leads the Western Athletic Conference in scoring defense (15.4 ppg), total defense (332.7 ypg) and passing defense (211.2 ypg).

Shaver and Busch have helped senior cornerback Will Davis to his star season, as he is second in the WAC and tied for ninth nationally in interceptions with five. He is also first in the WAC and nation in passes defended with 21.

Previous winners of the Defensive Backs Coach of the Year award are Tim Billings (Wake Forest, 2008), Everett Withers and Troy Douglas (North Carolina, 2009), Chad Glasgow and Clay Jennings (TCU, 2010) and Ron Cooper (LSU, 2011).



Tickets for the 2012 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl are available by contacting the USU Ticket Office at the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum, or by phone by calling 1-888-USTATE-1 or (435) 797-0305. Tickets can also be purchased 24 hours a day at www.UtahStateAggies.com.

Fans can follow the Aggie football program at twitter.com/USUFootball. Aggie fans can also follow the Utah State athletic program at twitter.com/USUAthletics or on facebook at Utah State University Athletics.

Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:


Conservice Utah State University Campus Store Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850