Utah State's Brown and Christensen Earn First-Team All-WAC Honors
Ashlee Brown and Devyn Christensen were both named first-team all-WAC on Monday.

March 5, 2012

LOGAN, Utah - Utah State women's basketball players senior forward Ashlee Brown and junior guard Devyn Christensen both earned first-team all-Western Athletic Conference honors as the league office announced its postseason honors Monday. Brown was also the WAC Defensive Player of the Year and was named to the all-Defensive team.

2012 Women's Basketball All-WAC TeamGet Acrobat Reader

Brown (Chandler, Ariz.) is the first Utah State player to earn first-team all-WAC honors two-straight seasons. In 2009, current assistant coach Danyelle Snelgro was the first Aggie to be named to the first team. Brown ended WAC action sixth in the league in scoring (14.4 ppg) and fourth in assists (4.07 apg). Overall, the senior is fifth in scoring, averaging 14.8 ppg and has had 10 double-doubles this season.

Christensen (Caldwell, Idaho) is the fifth Aggie to earn all-WAC honors and the third to earn first-team accolades after Brown and Snelgro. Senior forward Amber White was named to the all-WAC second-team in 2010, while Ana Pares earned second-team honors in 2009. Christensen led the league in scoring in WAC games, averaging 20.6 points per game and along with San Jose State's Brittany Johnson are the only two players averaging over 20.0 ppg. The junior guard was also third in conference in steals, averaging 2.36 spg.

Utah State was the only school to have two players on the first team with Fresno State's Ki-Ki Moore, Idaho's Alyssa Charlston and San Jose State's Brittany Johnson joining Brown and Christensen.

This is only the second time that Utah State has had two players earn all-WAC honors in one season. In 2009, both Snelgro and Pares were named to the second team. In 2005, Ali Marchant and Taylor Richards both were named honorable mention all-Big West, while Marchant and Christina Zdenek both earned the same award in 2004.

Brown became the fifth player to earn the WAC's Defensive Player of the Year honor and the first Utah State player as the award was added in 2008. The senior forward ended conference play second in the league in blocks (1.57 bpg), fifth in overall rebounding (8.7 rpg), tied for seventh in defensive rebounding (5.21 rpg), and sixth in steals (1.86 spg). Brown was the anchor of the Utah State defense that was second in league games in steals, averaging 10.71 spg and allowed opponents to score 67.9 ppg in 14 WAC games.

The versatile forward also earned her first spot on the WAC's all-Defensive team, becoming the third Aggie to do so after Alice Coddington was honored twice (2010, 2011) and Snelgro earned the award in 2009.

Fresno State's Ki-Ki Moore earned WAC Player of the Year honors and was also the WAC Newcomer of the Year. San Jose State's Tim La Kose, who is in his first year, was named WAC Coach of the Year.

College Sports Madness also announced its all-WAC team with Brown earning first-team honors and Christensen being named to the second team. Senior guard Brooke Jackson was named to the third team after ending league play first in field goal percentage (.565). Senior forward Maddy Plunkett earned fourth-team honors after ending the regular season first in three point field goal percentage (.474).

The Aggies finished the regular season with a 20-8 record, including an 11-3 WAC mark. The 20 wins so far this year is the most wins in school history. The 11 WAC victories for USU is the most wins in a season since joining the league for the 2005-06 season.

The WAC Tournament will be held March 7-10 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nev. Utah State will now take on seventh-seeded Nevada on Wednesday, March 7 at 3:30 p.m. (MT). This is the first time the Aggies have ever been a second seed in the WAC Tournament.

Fans can follow USU women's basketball at http://twitter.com/UTAHSTATEofmind and Utah State athletics at http://twitter.com/USUAthletics. Fans can also follow all the WAC Tournament action through the "Watch Live," "Listen Live" and "Live Stats" links at www.UtahStateAggies.com.

For tickets contact the USU Athletics Ticket Office at (435)797-0305 or at 1-888-U-STATE-1 (1-888-878-2831) for more information or visit the Utah State athletic web site at www.UtahStateAggies.com.

2011-12 All-Western Athletic Conference Teams
First Team All-WAC
Ashlee Brown 	        Utah State 	F 	6-0 	Sr.
Alyssa Charlston 	Idaho 		F 	6-1 	So.
Devyn Christensen 	Utah State 	G 	5-6 	Jr.
Brittany Johnson 	San Jose St. 	F 	5-10 	Sr.
Ki-Ki Moore 		Fresno State 	G 	5-8 	So.

Second Team All-WAC Jasmine Bendolph LA Tech G 5-7 Sr. S. Bramble-Donaldson LA Tech F 6-1 Sr. Kamilah Jackson Hawai`i F 6-0 So. Rosie Moult Fresno State G/F 6-0 Jr. Taylor Thompson Fresno State G 5-5 So.

All-Defensive Team Breanna Arbuckle Hawai`i G 6-0 Sr. Ashlee Brown Utah State F 6-0 Sr. Whitney Frazier LA Tech F 6-0 Fr. Rosie Moult Fresno State G/F 6-0 Jr. Taylor Thompson Fresno State G 5-5 So.

All-Freshman Team Alissa Campanero Hawai`i G 5-3 Ta'Rea Cunnigan San Jose St. G 5-9 Whitney Frazier LA Tech F 6-0 Krissy Karr Idaho G 5-6 Madison Parrish Fresno State G 5-8

Player of the Year: Ki-Ki Moore, Fresno State Defensive Player of the Year: Ashlee Brown, Utah State Newcomer of the Year: Ki-Ki Moore, Fresno State Coach of the Year: Tim La Kose, San Jose State

Changes made to all-WAC teams since 1998 2004: The all-Newcomer team was changed to an all-Freshman team and The Freshman of the Year was changed to Newcomer of the Year. 2008: Defensive Player of the Year was added to the all-WAC teams.



Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850

Privacy Safety Ethics & Compliance Hotline Accessibility Non-discrimination