Utah State Soccer Announces 2017 Competition Schedule
Utah State head soccer coach Heather Cairns has announced the team's competition schedule for the 2017 season.
April 18, 2017

LOGAN, Utah - Utah State head soccer coach Heather Cairns has announced the team's competition schedule for the 2017 season.

Among Utah State's opponents this season are four teams that participated in the 2016 College Cup, in Minnesota, South Dakota State, UNLV and Utah. Additionally, there are three first-time opponents for the Aggies, in Eastern Michigan, Minnesota and Oakland.

The Aggies will open the year at home with three matches at Chuck & Gloria Bell Field. Utah State will host Southern Utah in its sole exhibition match of the season, on Friday, Aug. 11. The official season will get underway on Friday, Aug. 18, against South Dakota State. The homestand will conclude on Sunday, Aug. 20, when the Aggies take on Montana.

Utah State's first road match will be a close one, as the Aggies travel to play in-state rival Utah, on Thursday, Aug. 24. The team will then return home to close-out the month of August against Cal State Fullerton, on Sunday, Aug. 27.

September will find the Aggies on the road for the majority of the month, as the team will play six-straight away matches. Utah State will take on border-foe Idaho State on Friday, Sept. 1, before heading east. The Aggies will play at Minnesota on Friday, Sept. 8, at Eastern Michigan on Friday, Sept. 15 and at Oakland (Mich.) on Sunday, Sept. 17.

USU will open Mountain West action on the road as it plays at San José State on Friday, Sept. 22, and at Fresno State on Sunday, Sept. 24. The team then returns home for a four-match homestand. The Aggies will host San Diego State on Friday, Sept. 29, followed by New Mexico on Sunday, Oct. 1. Colorado College will come to Logan for a match on Friday, Oct. 6, while Air Force will make the trip for a match on Sunday, Oct. 8.

Back on the road, the Aggies will play at Wyoming on Friday, Oct. 13, and at Colorado State on Sunday, Oct. 15. USU will then host defending Mountain West champion UNLV on Friday, Oct. 20. The team's final road match will be played at Nevada on Sunday, Oct. 22. The regular season will then conclude on the home pitch, as Utah State hosts Boise State on Friday, Oct. 27.

 

 

As the winners of last season's conference title, UNLV will host the 2017 Mountain West Championships. The tournament will begin on Tuesday, Oct. 31, with the championship game set for Saturday, Nov 4.

Utah State will return five starters and 14 total letterwinners to the 2017 roster, while welcoming eight new freshmen. The 2016 squad ended the year with a 12-9-0 overall record, going 7-4-0 in Mountain West action, finishing tied for third in the conference standings. The Aggies advanced to the semifinals of the Mountain West Tournament, where their season ended in a loss to eventual-champion UNLV.

Fans can follow USU soccer on Twitter, @USUSoccer, on Instagram, @USUSoccer, as well as on Facebook, at /USUSoccer. Aggie fans can also follow Utah State Athletics on Twitter.com, @USUAthletics, on Instagram, @USUAthletics and on Facebook at /USUAthletics.

-USU-
Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Campus Store Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850