Utah State's Flynn, Rose and Larsen-Leavitt Earn All-Mountain West Soccer Honors
Jennifer Flynn, Taryn Rose and Brooke Larsen-Leavitt have all earned all-MW honors.

Jennifer Flynn, Taryn Rose and Brooke Larsen-Leavitt have all earned all-MW honors.

Nov. 3, 2013

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - - Senior forward Jennifer Flynn led the charge as three Utah State soccer players earned all-Mountain West honors Sunday. Flynn earned first-team honors, while junior defenders Taryn Rose and Brooke Larsen-Leavitt were named to the second team. All-MW teams and individual awards were selected by the league's 11 head coaches and announced Sunday prior to the conference tournament starting Monday.

2013 All-MW TeamGet Acrobat Reader

Senior forward Jennifer Flynn, from Draper, Utah, earned her third all-conference honor after earning all-Western Athletic Conference honors twice. This is Flynn's first time earning first team honors. In Mountain West matches, the senior was tied for first in scoring with three goals for six points, despite missing time due to injury.

Junior defender Taryn Rose earned her third-straight second-team honor after being named to the all-WAC second team in 2011 and 2012. Rose, a native of North Salt Lake, Utah, was also the 2011 WAC Freshman of the Year. Rose was one of the leaders of the Aggie backline that allowed only seven goals in league play.

Junior defender Brooke Larsen-Leavitt also earned second-team honors for her strong defensive play. This is the first all-conference honor for the Springville, Utah native. She has started every match this season and added one assist in MW matches.

Fresno State senior forward Morgan Castain was named Offensive Player of the Year, while San Diego State senior defender Haley Palmer earned Defensive Player of the Year honors. Bulldog defender Ariana Holmes was named Freshman of the Year and Fresno State head coach Brian Zwaschka was named Coach of the Year.

The Aggies (9-6-4, 5-3-2 MW) will prepare for their first Mountain West Tournament by taking on eighth-seeded Nevada (5-10-4, 3-6-1 MW) on Monday, Nov. 4 at 7 p.m. (MT) in Albuquerque, N.M., at the New Mexico Soccer Complex on the campus of the University of New Mexico. Utah State fell to Nevada in its MW opener, 2-0, in Reno on Sept. 27. This is the first MW Tournament for the two-time defending Western Athletic Conference Tournament champion Aggies who are in their first season in the MW.

Live stats and free streaming for the MW Tournament will be available at www.UtahStateAggies.com. Mountain West Tournament information and free streaming can also be found at MW Soccer Tournament Central at http://www.themwc.com/#!/page/championship_w-soccer.

Fans can follow USU soccer at http://twitter.com/USUsoccer and Utah State athletics at http://twitter.com/USUAthletics. Fans can also follow Aggies soccer on Facebook at http://facebook.com/USUsoccer or on Instagram at http://instagram.com/USUsoccer.

2013 Mountain West Women's Soccer All-Conference First Team*
Brooke Heidemann, So., MF, Boise State^
Katy Oehring, Sr., MF, Boise State^
Morgan Castain, Sr., F, Fresno State
Katie DeVault, Jr., GK, Fresno State
Victoria Barba, So., MF, San Diego State
Kelsey Booth, Jr., MF/F, San Diego State
Carli Johnson, Sr., D, San Diego State^
Hannah Keane, Jr., F, San Diego State^
Haley Palmer, Sr., D, San Diego State#
Jenn Wolfe, Sr., F, UNLV^
Jennifer Flynn, Sr., F, Utah State
Lucie McDowell, Sr., F, Wyoming

2013 Mountain West Women's Soccer All-Conference Second Team Mikhaila Bowden, Jr., D, Boise State Maddy McDevitt, Jr., GK, Boise State Ariana Holmes, Fr., D, Fresno State Lindsey Guice, So., MF, New Mexico Liz Nare, Sr., D, New Mexico^ Dylan O'Connor, So., MF, New Mexico Brianna Webster, Sr., MF/D, New Mexico Brooke Larson-Leavitt, Jr., D, Utah State Taryn Rose, Jr., D, Utah State Sara Paul, Jr., F, Wyoming

Offensive Player of the Year: Morgan Castain, Sr., F, Fresno State Defensive Player of the Year: Haley Palmer, Sr., D, San Diego State Freshman of the Year: Ariana Holmes, Fr., D, Fresno State Coach of the Year: Brian Zwaschka, Fresno State

* = indicates a tie, creating a 12-member first team and a 10-member second team # = indicates a four-time selection ^ = indicates a two-time selection



Pepsi Blue Square Restaurant USU Charter Credit Union Icon Health & Fitness Utah State Online Education
Utah State University Campus Store