Two Utah State Softball Players Earns All-WAC Accolades
Thomsen earns First-Team all-WAC Honor, Froton Second-Team.

May 8, 2013

LOGAN, Utah - Two Utah State softball players have garnered end of season honors from the Western Athletic Conference as senior infielder Christine Thomsen was named to the first-team, while sophomore outfielder Hailey Froton earned second-team honors as announced by conference officials Wednesday.

Thomsen finished the season batting .387 in conference action and .425 for the season as her overall batting average was the highest of any player in the WAC. This is her second-straight first-team all-WAC honor as she was named a member of the 2012 all-WAC first-team as well. Thomsen, who also earned second-team Easton All-American honors, is the first player in USU history to earn first-team all-conference honors twice in her career.

Froton received her first all-conference honors of her career, as the sophomore collected second-team all-WAC honors for this season's performance. Froton finished with a .316 batting average in conference action as well as a .304 average overall. Froton also recorded five triples this season, which is tied for the most by any player in the WAC.

New Mexico State's Staci Rodriguez was named WAC Player of the Year, while San Jose State's Amanda Pridmore was named WAC Pitcher of the Year. WAC Freshman of the Year was awarded to Louisiana Tech's Anna Cross, while SJSU's Peter Turner earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Spartans to the regular season title as well as the No. 1 seed heading into this weeks WAC Tournament in Ruston, La.

New Mexico State led the way with six players on the All-WAC teams, followed by Texas State with five and San Jose State and Louisiana Tech with four each. The complete teams are listed below.

First Team         School       Ht.     Yr.     Pos.     Hometown

Darian Blake UTSA 5-8 Jr. OF Katy, Texas Markesha Collins San Jose St. 5-5 Sr. OF Citrus Heights, Calif. Michelle Cox San Jose St. 5-6 So. OF Sydney, Australia Anna Cross La. Tech 5-10 Fr. SS/P Cross Roads, Texas Isabella Geronimo Seattle U 5-3 Fr. OF San Mateo, Calif. Amanda Krueger La. Tech 5-4 Sr. 2B Warren, Ore. Bubba Morrow Seattle U 5-6 So. C Auburn, Wash. Alex Newman NMSU 5-10 Sr. P Rio Linda, Calif. Amber Olive NMSU 5-4 Sr. OF Simi Valley, Calif. Amanda Pridmore San Jose St. 5-7 Sr. P Modesto, Calif. Staci Rodriguez NMSU 5-9 So. OF Paramount, Calif. Christine Thomsen Utah State 5-8 Sr. 1B Fresno, Calif. Nina Villanueva UT Arlington 5-8 So. SS San Diego, Calif.



Second Team School Ht. Yr. Pos. Hometown

Emma Adams NMSU 5-6 Fr. UT Corrales, N.M. Brooke Baker Texas State 5-1 Sr. OF Houston, Texas Kelli Baker Texas State 5-7 Fr. OF Atascocita, Texas Devin Caldwell San Jose St. 5-3 Jr. IF Napa, Calif. Kristi Covarrubia NMSU 5-2 Jr. IF Las Cruces, N.M. Hailey Froton Utah State 5-6 So. OF Temecula, Calif. Melanie Goff La. Tech 5-9 Sr. OF/P San Diego, Calif. Macie Hair Texas State 5-9 Sr. C Leander, Texas Rayn House Texas State 5-8 Jr. P Paris, Texas Erin Kipp La. Tech 5-7 Sr. UT Bullard, Texas Haley Lemons Texas State 5-6 Sr. 1B Rockwall, Texas Teri Lyles UT Arlington 5-4 Sr. P Keller, Texas Malena Padilla NMSU 5-4 So. OF Oakley, Calif.

2013 WAC Player of the Year: Staci Rodriguez, New Mexico State 2013 WAC Pitcher of the Year: Amanda Pridmore, San Jose State 2013 WAC Freshman of the Year: Anna Cross, Louisiana Tech 2013 WAC Coach of the Year: Peter Turner, San Jose State

Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850

Privacy Safety Ethics & Compliance Hotline Accessibility Non-discrimination