Thomsen Becomes Fifth Aggies To Earn Softball First Team All-WAC Honors
All-WAC team announced Wednesday by conference office.

May 9, 2012

LOGAN, Utah - The Western Athletic Conference released its 2012 all-WAC softball teams today from Las Cruces, N.M., where the 2012 WAC Softball championship is being held. The all-WAC teams were selected by the league's head coaches. Utah State's junior infielder Christine Thomsen was selected to the first-team for her impressive 2012 campaign.

Thomsen finished the season batting .426 in conference games, with 29 hits, seven doubles and three home runs against WAC foes. She also posted a .982 fielding percentage, while manning first base, making her a defensive presence for her team as well. For the season, Thomsen batted .418 with a team high 66 hits to lead her team offensively. She posted a team-high 14 doubles to go along with 22 RBI and a .614 slugging percentage.

Thomsen is the 10th USU player to earn all-WAC honors since the Aggies joined the league in 2006. She is the fifth Aggie to earn first-team honors. Last season, freshman Allison Lenzora and Kassnadra Uchida were named to the second team. The last player to earn first-team honor was Nicole Rupp-Tindall in 2010.

"I am proud of Christine. When she joined our team this season I knew what type of player we were getting and she was able to showcase her talent every time she took the field. Christine worked hard this year and I am thrilled that she was recognized by opposing coaches and her peers for her hard work as well as her dedication to the game and our team."

Brigham Young's Delaney Willard was named WAC Player of the Year, while Hawai'i's Stephanie Ricketts was named Pitcher of the Year. Meanwhile, Hawai'i's Leisha Li'ili'i was named Freshman of the Year and UH's Bob Coolen was named Coach of the Year.

Hawai'i led the way with eight players on the all-WAC teams, followed by Brigham Young with five and Nevada with four. Five of the players were repeat selections from a year ago, while all eight schools were represented. The complete teams are listed below.



First Team Team Ht. Yr. Pos. Hometown (Last School)
JC Clayton Brigham Young 5-5 Jr. SS Hollister, Calif. (San Benito)
Jessica Dugas Brigham Young 5-4 Sr. CF Bellflower, Calif. (Mayfair)
Makani Duhaylonsod Hawai`i 5-11 Sr. 1B Mililani, O`ahu (Mililani)
Melanie Goff Louisiana Tech 5-9 Jr. SS/P Mira Mesa, Calif. (Grossmont)
Jessica Iwata Hawai`i 5-4 Jr. SS Lihu'e, Kaua`i (Kaua`i)
Kelly Majam Hawai`i 5-3 Jr. CF Pine Valley, Calif. (Mountain Empire)
Michelle Moses Fresno State 5-9 Sr. RHP Paso Robles, Calif. (Paso Robles)
Sara Parsons Nevada 5-9 So. OF Fallon, Nev. (Churchill County)
Amanda Pridmore San Jose State 5-7 Jr. RHP Modesto, Calif. (Modesto)
Stephanie Ricketts Hawai`i 6-0 Sr. RHP San Jose, Calif. (Archbishop Mitty)
Sarah Robinson Hawai`i 5-8 Sr. 3B Honolulu, O`ahu (Moanalua)
Christine Thomsen Utah State 5-8 Jr. 1B Fresno, Calif. (Colorado State)
Delaney Willard Brigham Young 5-7 Sr. RF Camarillo, Calif. (Adolfo Camarillo)

Second Team Team Ht. Yr. Pos. Hometown (Last School) Alex Aguirre Hawai`i 5-5 Sr. LF Temple City, Calif. (Temple City) Tori Almond Brigham Young 6-1 So. RHP South Jordan, Utah (Bingham) Chelsea Barilli Nevada 5-5 Jr. OF Poway, Calif. (Poway) Michelle Cox San Jose State 5-6 Fr. OF Sydney, NSW, Australia Karley Hopkins Nevada 5-6 So. SS Reno, Nev. (Spanish Springs) Shaleese Javillo New Mexico State 5-5 Sr. 2B Kohala, Hawai`i (Kamehameha) Karlyn Jones Nevada 5-7 So. RHP Sparks, Nev. (Pitt) Leisha Li`ili`i Hawai`i 5-11 Fr. DP Kane`ohe, O`ahu (Castle) Katie Manuma Brigham Young 5-8 So. 1B Ewa Beach, Hawai`i (Campbell) Vonnie Martin Fresno State 5-5 So. 3B Plano, Texas (Plano) Courtney Moore Fresno State 5-5 Sr. DP El Sobrante, Calif. (MSU) Kaia Parnaby Hawai`i 5-6 Sr. LHP Bilgola Plateau, NSW, Australia Briana Tovio-Asato New Mexico State 5-8 Fr. 3B Kapolei, Hawai`i (Kapolei)

2012 WAC Player of the Year: Delaney Willard, Brigham Young 2012 WAC Pitcher of the Year: Stephanie Ricketts, Hawai`i 2012 WAC Freshman of the Year: Leisha Li`ili`i, Hawai`i 2012 WAC Coach of the Year: Bob Coolen, Hawai`i

Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850

Privacy Safety Ethics & Compliance Hotline Accessibility Non-discrimination