USU's Softball's Thomsen recognized as Easton Second-Team All-American
Thomsen Continues To Earn End Of Season Accolades.

June 11, 2012

LOGAN, Utah - The 2012 Easton Fastpitch All-American Teams and Teams of the Year were announced today with Utah State's junior infielder Christine Thomsen earning second-team honors. Athletes selected to the Easton All-American teams are those who have had an outstanding season in the circle, and those who have shown Easton power and prowess at the plate. Thomsen was one of 47 athletes noticed by Easton. This is the first All-American Team award by a USU softball player since 1993 when Kathy Beasley received second team honors and DeAnne Earsley earned third-team honorees.

Thomsen was one of four players from the Beehive State to receive the Easton honor. Brigham Young's Delaney Willard was a first-team honoree, while fellow teammate JC Clayton earned second-team honors. Southern Utah's Mikkel Griffin also received second-team honors. Thomsen, Willard and Clayton join Hawai'i's Stephanie Ricketts and Jessica Iwata as the only Western Athletic Conference players honored by Easton.

"It is great to see Christine (Thomsen) receiving the recognition she worked for and earned this year. Christine is a smart hitter and always does what is necessary for the team to succeed. I am proud of Christine and all of her hard work," Utah State head coach Carissa Millsap-Kalaba said.

Thomsen finished the season batting .418 with a .614 slugging percentage and only seven strikeouts in 158 at bats. She also posted a team-high 66 hits, 14 doubles, 97 total bases and was tied for the second-most RBI on the team with 22. Thomsen proved that she was more than just a big bat at the plate as she was able to post a .993 fielding percentage while manning first base for the Aggies.

Those named Easton All-American include 47 athletes from 25 institutions. 2012 National Champion Alabama, UCLA and CSU Monterey Bay led the way with four Easton All-Americans each. Due to the number of deserving candidates who were considered for this award, Easton has named "NCAA Division I All-Americans," and "Non-Division I All-Americans."



2012 Easton NCAA Division I First Team All-American
Valerie Ariota, California, Senior
Lexy Bennett, Texas, Senior
Camilla Carrera, UTEP, Senior
Andrea Harrison, UCLA, Senior
Jolene Henderson, California, Junior
Kaila Hunt, Alabama, Sophomore
Stephany LaRosa, UCLA, Freshman
Amanda Locke, Alabama, Senior
Michelle Moultrie, Florida, Senior
2012 Easton NCAA Division I First Team  All-American
Jamia Reid, California, Senior
Katie Schroeder, UCLA, Senior
Stephanie Ricketts, Hawai'i, Senior
Hannah Rogers, Florida, Sophomore
Jackie Traina, Alabama, Sophomore
Delaney Willard, BYU, Senior

2012 Easton NCAA Division I Second Team All-American Jenna Caira, Syracuse, Senior Samantha Camuso, UCLA, Senior JC Clayton, BYU, Junior Jennifer Fenton, Alabama, Senior Jamie Fisher, Northern Iowa, Sophomore Jessica Garcia, New Mexico, Senior Mikkel Griffin, Southern Utah, Junior Jessica Iwata, Hawai'i, Junior Cyndil Matthew, Massachusetts, Junior Hayley Miles, San Diego State, Sophomore Lauren Lackey, South Carolina, Senior Blaire Luna, Texas, Junior Sara Plourde, Massachusetts, Senior Leah Taylor, Tennessee Martin, Junior Christine Thomsen, Utah State, Junior Chelsea Troupe, UTEP, Senior

Easton Sports, Inc. also named their 2012 "Team of the Year" award winners: University of Alabama, 2012 NCAA Division I Softball National Champions University of California, 2012 NCAA Women's College World Series Salt Lake Community College, NJCAA Division I National Runner-Up

Download Schedule:  Add to calendar
Social Media
USU Athletics Official Twitter Feed:

Watch Live
Watch Live
Conservice Maverik Pepsi USU
Utah State University Department of Athletics 7400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322 Main Phone (435) 797-1850